Michael Finnissy – Book Launch and Concert

The launch of a major new volume of writings on the work of British composer Michael Finnissy, to which Philip Thomas has contributed a chapter, edited by City’s Head of Performance Dr Ian Pace together with composer and musicologist Dr Nigel McBride. The book is published by Routledge, as part of their Ashgate Studies in Theory and Analysis of Music After 1900 series.

26 June, 2019, City University, London

6:30pm: Launch and drinks reception

7pm: Performance

  • Michael Finnissy, First Political Agenda (1999-2006) (Philip Thomas, piano)
  • Chris Newman, An Everything and Us (1990) (Lauren Redhead, piano)
  • Lauren Redhead, Chris Newman: The Nineties (2019)
  • Michael Finnissy, Chi Mei Ricercari (part) (2013) (Neil Heyde, cello; Zubin Kanga, piano)
  • Michael Finnissy, Fourth Political Agenda (2019) (World Premiere) (Philip Thomas, Michael Finnissy, Ian Pace, pianos)
  • Michael Finnissy, Piano Concerto No. 4 (1978, rev. 1996) (Ian Pace, piano)